As the third Park East community within downtown Springfield, Missouri, The Sterling has an approach as unique as its history. Built in 1914, owner John T. Woodruff and Architect Frank Hunt appointed their friend Charles Sansone—a local grocer who lost his business in a fire—as proprietor of the new ’Hotel Sansone‘. Though the name changed through the years—and the building languished for more than a decade—this original concept of friendship and community is still the soul of The Sterling.
The Sterling is now home to 29 residential microunits—each efficient without sacrificing comfort. As part of living simpler, residents benefit from shared amenities: each floor has designated areas for items to check out, use and return: small appliances, tools, a library, even a shared bicycle program. Less stuff, more efficiency and a broader sense of community. Less is more, indeed.